NHRA - National Hot Rod Association


Crew Chief Confidential: Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals

NHRA reporter Lewis Bloom caught up with race-winning crew chiefs Todd Okuhara,Tommy DeLago and Nick Boninfante, Dave Connolly, and Tim Kulungian at the Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals.
22 Aug 2017
Posted by NHRA.com staff
Crew Chief Confidential

NHRA reporter Lewis Bloom caught up with all four race-winning crew chiefs at the Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals.

Bloom talked to Todd Okuhara, tuner for Leah Pritchett’s record-setting Papa John’s Top Fuel dragster, co crew chiefs Tommy DeLago and Nick Boninfante for Alexis DeJoria, Dave Connolly for Tanner Gray, and Tim Kulungian, who had both his motorcycles in the final round racing for the Wally at Brainerd. 

Pritchett scored her first win of the season since Houston earlier this year, and set the elapsed time record before defeating Antron Brown in the final round. DeJoria won her first race in over a year, and put herself 10th in the points. Gray won his fourth race of his rookie season, like Pritchett scoring the win from the No. 1 starting spot. Finally, it has been a dream season for the White Alligator team, with seven of a possible nine wins going to Jerry Savoie and new teammate LE Tonglet this year.