NHRA - National Hot Rod Association

Stump Bob: Which drivers have scored their first round-wins against world champs?

NHRA historian and statistician Bob Frey cannot be stumped!
18 Mar 2022
Bob Frey
Stump Bob
Stump Bpb

OK ... so, here goes. 

When Chad Green beat Matt Hagan in Las Vegas in 2021, Hagan was the reigning champion (Hagan won in 2020), and it was the first round-win for Green. And, to date, his only round-win.

Including Green, there have been 14 drivers who won their first round against the reigning world champion: four in Funny Car, seven in Pro Stock, and three in Pro Stock Motorcycle. I haven’t found any in the Top Fuel class. Here's the complete list:

Terry Haddock beat John ForceReading, 2003
Blake Alexander beat Jack BeckmanBristol, 2013
John Bojec beat Matt HaganReading, 201
Chad Green beat Matt Hagan (1)Las Vegas, 2021
Aaron Stanfield beat Jeg Coughlin Jr. (1)Indy, 2014
Alan Prusiensky beat Erica EndersEnglishtown, 2015
Chris McGaha beat Greg AndersonDallas, 2011
Dave Northrop beat Greg AndersonDallas, 2006
Tommy Lee beat Warren JohnsonSt. Louis, 2002
Justin Humphrey beat Jason LineSt. Louis, 2007
Mark Martino beat Jason LineGainesville, 2012
Chris Reuter beat Matt HinesBrainerd, 1999
Matt Smith beat Angelle SampeyAtlanta, 2003
Scott Lewis beat Angelle Sampey (2)Pomona-2, 2002
(1) First round-win in Pro Stock
(2) Only career round-win
NOTE: These do not include four-wide events.



Want to try to Stump Bob? Click here to send us an email, or use Twitter with the hashtag #StumpBob.

(Questions should be stats-based. No questions like "Who was the first to run 300 mph?" or "Which racer is nicknamed 'Big Daddy'?")