NHRA - National Hot Rod Association

Cottrell, Williamson and Generalao Jr., conquer 51st Nightfire Nationals

08 Aug 2022
Posted by NHRA.com staff
Nightfire Nationals

The 51st edition of the Nightfire Nationals presented by Bi-Mart attracted a record turnout for the mid-summer Idaho stop in the 2022 NHRA Hot Rod Heritage series.

Winning his fifth consecutive Firebird major event title, Bobby Cottrell stopped Kris Krabill in the AA/Funny Car final. The “Northwest Hitter” team delivered a 5.69-254.04 to clip the Bartone & Lebor Camaro, which finished at 5.74-240.98.

In AA/Fuel Dragster, Brett Williamson earned top honors at 5.86-257.14. Tyler Hester was runner-up at 5.90-232.51 in a hard-fought battle.

James Generalao Jr. avenged his runner-up finish from one year ago by scoring the AA/Fuel Altered crown. He recorded a solo 6.21-232.91 when Cory Lee was unable to rebuild the “Sheepherder” roadster following engine damage in the semifinals. Garrett Richards won the Pro Mod match race with a 3.99-192.22 against Shane Molinari who finished at 4.10-187.21.

The NHRA.tv Challenge 3-Night Bracketeer Series presented by Mirage Trailers officially crowned five overall champions. NHRA Wally statues were awarded to: Bracketeer Champ-Jason Thomas, Pro-Chris Hall, Heavy-Cameron Dill, Sled/Bike-Dave Wheeler, and Lucas Oil Top Fire-Justin Hof. Additionally, Anthony Keller was victorious in the Pro Comp division.