NHRA - National Hot Rod Association


Wichita Falls Raceway captures South Central Division team title

The team from Wichita Falls Raceway took home the Team Championship and Jake Howard defended his win from last year at Texas Motorplex for the NHRA Summit Racing Series South Central Division finals. 
19 Sep 2017
Posted by NHRA.com staff
Division 4

ENNIS, Texas – The team from Wichita Falls Raceway took home the Team Championship and Jake Howard defended his win from last year at Texas Motorplex for the NHRA Summit Racing Series South Central Division finals. 

Wichita Falls racked up 74 points led by Howard and Eric Sandlin who took home wins in Sportsman and Super Pro respectively. Thunder Valley Raceway Park followed in second at 71, and Royal Purple Raceway in third at 61. Racers from 12 tracks in the South Central Division competed at the event.

Defending Sportsman champion Howard, from Lavon, Texas, took the win again this year with a holeshot advantage in his ’70 GTO and a time of 7.577 seconds at 86.81 mph against Amanda Wolter from Mustang, Okla., running 8.367, 83.28.

Sandlin, Burleson, Texas, met up with fellow Wichita racer Bradley Thompson in the Super Pro final and earned the win in his ’75 Chevy with a run of 6.516 at 102.70.  Thompson of Vernon, Texas, clocked in at 4.928, 139.46. 

In the No Box/Pro final Jason Patterson from Deer Park, Texas, took the early lead and held on to win with a time of 6.123 at 106.09 mph against Jeremy Hefler from Kennedale, Texas, with a time at 6.084, 107.76 mph.

Cameron Belisle, Hugo, Minn., went up against Mike Voss from Maplewood, Minn., in the Motorcycle final. Belisle had a slight lead off the line and scored the win with a time off 5.72 at 116.86 mph to Voss’ 5.904, 114.29.

In the Race of Champions Electronics class, Garvin West, from Lawton, Okla., and Scott Wallace from Grand Prairie, Texas, met at the line with Lawton taking the win covering the quarter mile in 5.062 at 135.82 mph. 

The No Electrics class saw Joseph Gomez from Lovington, N.M., driving his ’64 Chevy II to the win against Ken Graham from Red Oak, Texas, with a time of 7.325 and at 83.64 mph.

Michael Nash from Texarkana, Texas, and Dwayne Thousand from Lake Charles, La., faced off in the Race of Champions Motorcycle final with Nash taking the win in 5.059 seconds at 137.08 mph.

Racers Tristin Marti from Noble Okla., and Kasidee Edison from Mineral Wells, Texas, went head to head in the Race of Champions High School.  Marti prevailed with a time of 9.443, 75.71 mph.

In the Jr. Street final it was Hayden Trumble from Pasadena, Texas, and Chas Morris from Mustang, Okla., going to battle.  Trumble clocked in at 9.659 at 73.00 in his ’94 Trans Am for the win.

The following are the final results from the NHRA Summit Racing Series South Central Division Finals:

Wichita Falls Raceway74
Thunder Valley Raceway Park71
Royal Purple Raceway Park61
Big Country Race Way50
Ardmore Dragway47
Texas Motorplex35
Paris Drag Strip35
Texas raceway33
Osage Tulsa Raceway Park30
Thunder Road Raceway Park20
Hobbs Motorsports Park10
No Problem Raceway Park7

Eric Sandlin, Burleson, Texas, '75 Chevy LUV, 6.516, 102.70 def.
Bradley Thompson, Vernon, Texas, '12 Monden, 4.928, 139.46. 

Jason Patterson, Deer Park, Texas, '70 Camaro, 6.123, 106.09 def.
Jeremy Hefler, Kennedale, Texas, '86 Bronco, 6.084, 107.76. 

Jake Howard, Lavon, Texas, '70 GTO, 7.577, 86.81 def.
Amanda Wolter, Mustang, Okla., '02 Trans Am, 8.367, 83.28. 

Cameron Belisle, Hugo, Minn., '10 Kawasaki, 5.720, 116.86 def.
Mike Voss, Maplewood, Minn., '12 Kawasaki, 5.904, 114.29. 

Garvin West, Lawton, Okla., dragster, 5.062, 135.82 def.
Scott Wallace, Grand Prairie, Texas, '78 Malibu, foul. 

Joseph Gomez, Lovington, N.M., '64 Chevy II, 7.325, 83.64 def.
Ken Graham, Red Oak, Texas, '67 Firebird, broke. 

Michael Nash, Texarkana, Texas, '12 Koenig, 5.059, 137.08 def.
Dwayne Tousand, Lake Charles, La., '06 Kawasaki, foul. 

Tristin Marti, Noble, Okla., '69 C-10 PU, 9.443, 75.71 def.
Kasidee Eidson, Mineral Wells, Texas, '68 Camaro, foul. 

Hayden Trumble, Pasadena, Texas, '94 Trans Am, 9.659, 73.00 def.
Chad Morris, Mustang, Okla., '85 Chevrolet, foul.


ENNIS, Texas – Texas Motorplex will host the 2017 NHRA South Central Division Summit Racing Series Finals, September 22-24.  Top drivers from NHRA member tracks across the South Central division will compete in five classes for individual and team honors.  

Individual champions in Super Pro, No-Box/Pro, Sportsman and Motorcycle will advance to the NHRA Summit National Championship against the winners from NHRA’s other six divisions at the Auto Club NHRA Finals in Pomona, Calif., in November.  A High School class will also compete during the event.

Participants in the top classes will compete for cash awards of more than $20,000.  Drivers who advance to Pomona will each receive an additional $3,000 and the champions in each class will earn $5,000.  Competitors in the High School class will earn trophies.

Time trials at Texas Motorplex are scheduled to begin at 9 a.m. on Friday with the Gamblers race to follow. Saturday time trials for all classes will begin at 9 a.m. The Race of Champions, a race within a race where the top points earning drivers from each track square off in head-to-head competition, will start Saturday at 1 p.m.  Round 1 of the event eliminations will follow in the afternoon, and continue Sunday at 9 a.m.  

For more information contact the Texas Motorplex, (972) 878-2641 or visit www.TexasMotorplex.com.