NHRA - National Hot Rod Association

Seventy-day countdown begins to the 70th NHRA U.S. Nationals

In 70 days, four drivers in the NHRA Mission Foods Drag Racing Series will celebrate one of the biggest wins in their careers when the 70th annual NHRA U.S. Nationals takes place on Aug. 28-Sept. 2.
25 Jun 2024
Posted by NHRA.com staff
 70th NHRA U.S. Nationals

In 70 days, four drivers in the NHRA Mission Foods Drag Racing Series will celebrate one of the biggest wins in their careers when the 70th annual NHRA U.S. Nationals takes place on Aug. 28-Sept. 2.

The world’s biggest drag race takes place at Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park and celebrates its 70th anniversary during the 2024 season, offering something special for all fans and competitors. As the NHRA’s most iconic event commemorates seven decades of racing on the grandest stage, drivers in Top Fuel, Funny Car, Pro Stock, and Pro Stock Motorcycle will look for a legacy-making win during the spectacular weekend. 

The race features everything from the final Mission #2Fast2Tasty NHRA Challenge race of the season to the Pep Boys NHRA Funny Car All-Star Callout on the Pro side, as well as the special Sox & Martin Hemi Challenge presented by the McCandless Collection and racing action in the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series, Congruity NHRA Pro Mod Drag Racing Series presented by LearnEV+, Flexjet NHRA Factory Stock Showdown, and NHRA Holley EFI Factory X.

There’s something for every drag racing fan to celebrate the Big Go turning 70, as well as a number of can’t-miss incentives, including:

  • A special 70th-anniversary NHRA U.S. Nationals pennant for the first 8,000 fans in attendance for eliminations on Monday, Sept. 2
  • Free parking for all fans in attendance for the entire weekend
  • SealMaster NHRA Track Walk on Monday and winner’s circle celebration
  • An unforgettable Top Eliminator Club experience, including NHRA driver appearances, food and drink, TEC gift bag, starting line seats, and much more
  • The biggest field in drag racing; last year, more than 900 cars competed on the hallowed grounds of Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park
  • A must-see Hot Rod Junction
  • Children 12 and under get in free to an event offering all-day entertainment
  • There will be a host of special events announced in the coming weeks as well.

Simply put, a win at the world’s biggest drag race means more. Careers are defined by victories at the NHRA U.S. Nationals, and all the greats have forged their legacies through their Indy success, including iconic drivers like Don Garlits, Don Prudhomme, Kenny Bernstein, Ed McCulloch, Connie Kalitta, Shirley Muldowney, Joe Amato, Bob Glidden, Warren Johnson, Lee Shepherd, Dave Schultz, and many more.

It's a list that also includes current stars like Tony Schumacher, John Force, Antron Brown, Ron Capps, Greg Anderson, Jeg Coughlin Jr., Steve Torrence, Erica Enders, Matt Smith, Doug Kalitta, Matt Hagan, Cruz Pedregon, Shawn Langdon, and J.R. Todd.

Top Fuel’s Schumacher has an amazing 10 victories at the Big Go, the most of any driver in NHRA history, while Force’s five Funny Car wins are tied with McCulloch for the most in class history. Anderson’s 100th career win in 2022 gave the five-time champ seven overall wins in Pro Stock at the world’s biggest drag race, while Brown has five career wins across two classes at the U.S. Nationals.

The NHRA U.S. Nationals has been synonymous with some of the biggest moments in NHRA history, and more will surely be made in 2024. Last year, Brown (Top Fuel), Capps (Funny Car), Matt Hartford (Pro Stock), and Smith (Pro Stock Motorcycle) all won, with Brown, Capps, and Smith winning in Indy for the second straight year. This year’s race will again be broadcast on FOX and FS1, including live eliminations on FOX on Monday, Sept. 2.

Doug Kalitta currently leads the Top Fuel ranks, while Austin Prock’s debut season in Funny Car has been a huge success as he leads the way. Dallas Glenn is the Pro Stock points leader, while Gaige Herrera remains undefeated in 2024 with five wins to his credit in Pro Stock Motorcycle. Other stars to watch include Top Fuel’s Brittany Force, Justin Ashley, and racing legend Tony Stewart, who will make his Indy Top Fuel debut, Funny Car’s Bob Tasca III, Daniel Wilkerson and Alexis DeJoria, Pro Stock’s Aaron Stanfield and Troy Coughlin Jr., and Pro Stock Motorcycle’s Angie Smith, Hector Arana Jr., and Richard Gadson.

Starting next week, the NHRA will also explore each of the seven decades of the Big Go, starting with the 1960s when Garlits picked up a trio of Top Fuel wins.
To purchase tickets to the 70th annual NHRA U.S. Nationals, fans can visit www.NHRA.com/tickets. All children 12 and under will be admitted free in the general-admission area with a paid adult.