NHRA - National Hot Rod Association


Circle K NHRA Four-Wide Nationals Sportsman final-round video highlights

09 May 2022
NHRA National Dragster staff

Corey Michalek collected career win No. 2, both of which have come at zMAX Dragway, when he won the Top Alcohol Dragster final-round quad over, respectively, Jasmine Salinas, Megan Smith, and Taylor Vetter. Michalek, who also won this event in 2014 (when it was a two-wide race), got the win on a holeshot over Salinas 5.35 to 5.32. [video]

Reigning world champion Sean Bellemeur and the Steve Boggs-led Bartone Bros. Killer Bs stung the Top Alcohol Funny Car field for their third straight time at zMAX Dragway. The defending event champ notched his first win of the season, fending off D.J. Cox Jr., Gatornationals champ Matt Gill, and Brian Hough. [video]

Tom Ratliff scored his first career national event win and the 11th for the Treadwell family when he wheeled the Treadwell Farms E/ED past Bill Skillman in the Comp final. Ratliff, Super Comp runner-up at the 2008 NHRA Southern Nationals, ran a (-.51) 8.31 for the win to deny Skillman, the Constant Aviation NHRA Factory Stock Showdown champ at the event, a rare double-up. [video]

A decade after his first national event win in Charlotte, Joe Lisa collected his second NHRA national event Wally following a Super Stock final-round win over Jeff Longhany. Lisa’s win was fueled by a .001 light in the final, helping seal a double-breakout victory. Longhany was appearing in his first national event final since Atlanta in 2017. [video]

Following a round-three finish at the Division 2 event in Gainesville, Daren Poole-Adams finally went the distance and claimed his first NHRA national event title in Stock. Poole-Adams won the final over Jack Zimmerman’s classic ’70 Challenger with a 9.749 against his 9.68 dial. Zimmerman was appearing in his first final since the 2000 Richmond event. [video]

Michael Handras who was turned away in the Super Comp final round of last year’s fall Charlotte event, went the distance this time with his NitroFish dragster for his first national event win, and he did so emphatically, tying a great .008 reaction time to a near-perfect 8.909 to force nine-time winner John Labbous Jr. into an 8.892 breakout loss. [video]

Craig Porter made it two straight wins at zMAX Dragway as last fall’s NHRA Carolina Nationals champ and scored again in Super Gas with his Porter Performance Mustang. In the final, Rusty Cook, a two-time series winner, got the better of two good lights but took too much stripe and broke out with a 9.893 to Porter’s slightly less egregious 9.894. [video]

Jason Bator collected his first career national event victory, wheeling his ’70 Chevelle past two-time winner Keith Mayers and his Porsche 944 in a double-breakout Super Street decision. After nearly identical reaction times, Bator turned on the win light with a 10.887, closer to the index than Mayers’ quicker 10.879. [video]

In his first NHRA event of the season, Scott Neal claimed his first win in Top Dragster presented by Vortech Superchargers. Neal won the final over Zach Sackman with a solid .016 light and a 7.164 on his 7.15 dial. Sackman was appearing in his first final since winning the U.S. Nationals last season. [video]