NHRA - National Hot Rod Association


Leah Pruett selected as Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Honorary Chairperson

17 May 2021
Posted by NHRA.com staff
Leah Pruett

Don Schumacher Racing’s Leah Pruett has been selected by the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) to serve as the Honorary Chairperson for the Hall’s upcoming Class of 2021 induction ceremony. 

As the Honorary Chairperson, Pruett will help to welcome Class of 2021 inductees Davey Allison, John Cobb, Larry Dixon, Jr., Janet Guthrie, Nicky Hayden, Robin Miller, Fran Muncey, Ray Nichels, and Judy Stropus to the MSHFA’s prestigious ranks on Wednesday, Sept. 29, at the M1 Concourse in Pontiac, Mich. 

“It is such an incredible honor to be selected as the Honorary Chairperson of the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America’s 2021 class, especially this year since three of the nine inductees are women, the most of any class in the Hall’s history,” said Pruett, an eight-time NHRA Top Fuel event winner, 2018 NHRA Factory Stock Showdown Series world champion, and the 2010 NHRA Hot Rod Heritage Racing Series Nostalgia Funny Car champion. “These women have helped to knock down barriers and pave the way for other females, like myself, to have an opportunity to compete on an even playing field. The women who came before me helped to redefine how women were perceived in motorsports, and it’s my goal to help contribute to their legacy, and make all of the 2021 inductees proud. 

“It’s a privilege to have the opportunity to be surrounded by such greatness, and every single person that will be inducted that evening is a true legend in our industry,” added Pruett, driver of the Mopar Dodge//SRT Top Fuel dragster for NHRA team owner Don Schumacher, an MSHFA Class of 2019 inductee.

As the Honorary Chairperson, Pruett will kick off the evening as the first speaker to address the crowd. While Pruett may be considered a young up-and-comer in the auto-racing industry, she has 25 years of motorsports experience under her belt. 

“We thought that it would be great for a current-generation racer, a winner at the highest levels, to put into perspective for the 250+ attendees from across the sport — representing drag racing, stock car racing, sports car racing, motorcycle racing, and more — how she benefited from those who came before and the challenges that still remain so that every competitor is allowed to compete purely on the basis of their abilities as racers,” remarked MSHFA President George Levy of how Pruett was selected to serve as the 2021 Honorary Chair.

Pruett will join an esteemed list of Honorary Chairpersons who have come before her, including Mario Andretti, Kurt Busch, and John Force. Helio Castroneves has been selected to serve as the chairperson for the Class of 2020 induction ceremony, which will take place earlier that week on Monday night, Sept. 27, having been delayed due to COVID-19.

“The list of Honorary Chairpersons that precede me is impressive, and it’s such a privilege to join that elite group,” added Pruett, a multi-faceted racer who has held competition licenses in seven different NHRA categories. “I can already feel the energy of greatness surrounding us as we prepare to celebrate a night of lifetime champions.”

“They are called Honorary Chairpersons,” said Levy, of Pruett and Castroneves, “but really it is we who are honored to have them take time from their race schedules to address these two great groups of inductees and hundreds of special guests who will be in attendance.”

Both the 2020 and 2021 induction ceremonies are open to the public, but tickets must be purchased in advance. To reserve yours, visit the MSHFA at www.mshf.com or contact George Levy at (248) 895.1704 or glevy@mshf.com.