NHRA - National Hot Rod Association

South Central Division team goes back-to-back at JEGS Allstars

Led by four event champions, the Division 4 team successfully defended its overall team championship in the JEGS Allstars race as Central Region captures alcohol crown.
01 Jun 2019
Kevin McKenna, NHRA National Dragster Senior Editor
Race coverage
Christopher Dodd

In another dominant performance that was reminiscent of their 2018 triumph, the team from the South Central Division (Division 4) captured their second-straight overall team title in the JEGS Allstars event. Led by victories from Jeff Lopez (Stock), Christopher Dodd (Super Comp), Cy Hill (Super Street), and Darian Boesch (Top Dragster), the Division 4 team racked up 1,200 points to hold off the team from Division 2, whose members scored 1,000 points. The Division 1 team was also in the mix with 900 points. It was the eighth-overall team title for the Division 4 crew, matching the record held by the Division 3 team. Each of the D4 team members will share in a $20,000 bonus from JEGS Mail Order.

The alcohol portion of the JEGS Allstars race went to the Central Region team in a tie-breaker over the West Region team. Ray Drew scored the deciding win in Top Alcohol Funny Car while Top Alcohol Dragster winner Joey Severance was the star for the West Region team.

Unlike last year, when the Division 4 team dominated from start to finish, this year’s battle was much more competitive. After round one, the Division 2 team held a slim 100-point lead over the Division 1 squad, 600 to 500, with Divisions 4 and 7 also in the mix with 400 points apiece. The field of contenders separated a bit after the semifinal round where Division 2 sent three drivers to the final round and finished with 900 points. The Division 1 and Division 4 teams were lurking close behind with 800 markers each.  

Cheered on by Division Director Trey Capps, the Division 4 team, which encompasses racers from Texas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, Mississippi, and Arkansas, delivered a knock-out blow when their members turned on four-straight win lights in final rounds. Former national champ Lopez kicked off the battle when he won the Stock title over Division 2 racer Jeff Hairrington. Super Street racer Hill added another 100 points to the D4 total when he defeated Division 1 racer Keith Mayers. The official celebration began in the next pair when Dodd topped Division 2 racer Ray Miller III in the Super Comp final. Top Dragster racer Boesch put the icing on the cake with his win over Division 7 representative Ed Olpin in the Top Dragster final.

The other champions crowned during the 34th running of the historic event included two-time world champ Frank Aragona, who stopped Doug Doll in the Comp final to defend his 2018 title. The lone win for Division 3 came from Jeff Dona, who stopped defending Allstars winner Aaron Stanfield in the competitive Super Stock final. Another former national champ, John Labbous Jr., also got on the board for the Division 2 squad when he topped Iggie Boicesco in the Super Gas final. The final title went to Division 3 racer Kynon Dinkel, who scored in Top Sportsman when he stopped defending event winner Lester Johnson in his ’55 Chevy.

Each of the racers who won in today’s JEGS Allstars race are automatically eligible to return next year as blockers in their respective classes. The winners are also in line for a double-up bonus should the also win the same eliminator in Sunday’s Route 66 Nationals final rounds.

JEGS Allstars overall team points (final standings)
Division 4    1,200
Division 2    1,000
Division 1    900
Division 3    700
Division 7    500
Division 5    200
Division 6    200