NHRA - National Hot Rod Association

Division 3 winners Allen, Barney, Buth, Markham, and Sturgill headed to Pomona

Jay Allen, Joe Barney, Travis Buth, and John Markham took victories at the Division 3 Summit Series Finals to earn berths in the National Championships later this year. Super Pro Race of Champions winner Michael Sturgill will accompany them as the wild card entry.
11 Sep 2019
Posted by NHRA.com staff
Division 3

The following are Sunday's final results from the 2019 NHRA Summit Racing Series North Central Division Finals:

Jay Allen, Utica, Ill., '14 Miller, 5.012, 137.40  def. Mitchell Vincent, St Charles, Ill., '11 Racecraft, 4.810, 142.31. 

Joe Barney, Springfield, Ohio, '95 S10, 6.511, 103.92  def. Owen Hoover, Norwalk, Ohio, '88 Camaro, 7.216, 95.05. 

Travis Buth, Nineveh, Ind., '86 Mustang, 12.755, 99.52  def. Daniel Beauch, Petersburg, Mich., '69 Skylark, 12.992, 100.02. 

John Markham, Bowling Green, Ky., dragster, 8.881, 142.40  def. Tom Ewig, Oak Creek, Wis., dragster, 8.949, 142.73. 

Avery Duncan, Charlestown, Ind., '00 Camaro, 13.571, 101.75  def. Luke Albietz, Wentzville, Mo., '98 Vette, 13.543, 106.15. 


The following are Friday's final results from the 2019 NHRA Summit Racing Series North Central Division Race of Champions:

Michael Sturgill, Medway, Ohio, '15 Mcilvain, 4.801, 141.31  def. Tommy Mattingly, Louisville, Ky.,'13 American, 4.582, 149.48. 

Brian Cireddu, Brunswick, Ohio, '67 Camaro, 6.412, 104.11  def. David Mullins, Milan, Mich., '00 S10, 6.655, 103.84. 

Codie Balcom, Maybee, Mich., '87 Caprice, 12.867, 101.77  def. Jerry Woods, Scottsville, Ky., '87 S10, 11.958, 108.92. 

Mike Krueger, Lowell, Ind., dragster, 8.464, 146.27  def. Roger Wilhelm Jr., Urbana, Ohio, dragster, 9.180, 136.58. 


Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis will be hosting the 44th annual NHRA Summit Racing Series North Central Division Finals, Sept. 13-15. The event will feature teams of the series’ best racers representing NHRA member tracks from across the region. Top points earning drivers in five classes will be on hand to compete for team and individual honors. Nearly 700 drivers are expected to compete in Super Pro, Pro, Sportsman, Super Pro Bike, and High School categories. Racers in the High School class will run for trophies while the others will compete for cash awards of more than $60,000.

Friday’s action will also feature the Sunoco Race of Champions, where the best of the best in Super Pro, Pro, Sportsman and Super Pro Bike will compete for top honors. Sunday’s winners will move on to compete for a national championship at the Auto Club NHRA Finals at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona in Calif., in November. They will run against the winners from NHRA’s other six divisions for more than $100,000 in prize money.

Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis is located on Indiana Highway 136, four miles west of I-465, exit 16. For more information call the track, (317) 291-4090 or visit www.LucasOilRaceway.com.