Vote for NHRA Mello Yello Top Fuel champ Brittany Force for ESPY Best Driver award

Cast your vote for Top Fuel champion Brittany Force in the 2018 ESPY Best Driver category.
06 Jul 2018
Posted by staff

Brittany Force, 2017 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Top Fuel world champion, has been nominated for the 2017 ESPYs Best Driver Award. Force, 31, driver of the Advance Auto Parts Monster Energy Top Fuel dragster, finished the 2017 season in dramatic fashion by clinching the championship on the last day of the season after racing to four final rounds with three wins during the Countdown to the Championship playoffs.

Joining Force on the 2018 ESPY Best Driver ballot are NASCAR driver Martin Truex Jr., IndyCar driver Josef Newgarden, and Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton.

The ESPY Awards, acronym for Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly, were created by ESPN in 1993. NHRA fans can vote for Force and their other sports heroes in variety of categories via an online poll at here. Voting is underway and concludes at 9 p.m. (ET) on July 17. Fans can vote once per day. 

It is the eighth time a John Force Racing driver has been nominated for the award and a first time nomination for Force. Her father John Force has been nominated for the ESPY Best Driver Award six times and sister Ashley Force Hood was a nominee in 2008. 

In addition to Brittany, Ashley (who was nominated in 2008), and her father, nominated in 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2011 and 2014, other NHRA drivers who have been nominated for ESPY awards include Ron Capps (2016), Erica Enders Stevens (2015), Del Worsham (2012), Tony Schumacher (2007-2010), Melanie Troxel (2006), Tony Pedregon (2004) and Greg Anderson (2005 and 2011). 

The 2018 ESPY winners will be announced on July 18.