NHRA - National Hot Rod Association

Portland takes team title, four heading to Summit National Championship

Portland International Raceway captured the NHRA Summit Racing Series Northwest Division Final Team Championship along with four racers that punched their tickets to the Summit National Championship in winning Saturday’s Race of Champions.
28 Aug 2018
Posted by NHRA.com staff

BOISE, Idaho – Portland International Raceway captured the NHRA Summit Racing Series Northwest Division Final Team Championship along with four racers that punched their tickets to the Summit National Championship in winning Saturday’s Race of Champions. Pat Osmundson, Matt Kielman, Devin Froud and Scott Grondahl each won their eliminator and will face off with the winners of the six other NHRA Summit Division Finals in November at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona.
Portland racers racked up 86 points for the team championship follow by host track Firebird Raceway at 81 and Woodburn Dragstrip with 70 in third. Osmundson recorded a .022 package that included a lap of 8.982 seconds on the 8.98 dial for the win in Super Pro after Scott Wear was a tick too quick on the start.
Kielman went seven rounds in Pro and won a close race over Gregg Heriford by about 22 inches in his ’70 Nova clocking in at 10.553, 125.75 to Heriford’s 10.614, 126.53 in a ’72 Vega. In Sportsman it was Froud who put his ’67 Mustang in the winner’s circle along with local racer Grondahl, Nampa, Idaho., in Sportsman Motorcycle. The Race of Champions Team Championship went to Woodburn Dragstrip with Firebird Raceway and Renegade Raceways landing second and third.
Also taking home wins in the Race of Champions competition were Damien Chinn, Wapato, Wash., over Thomas Vickers in High School; Calli Deming beat Grady Halverson in Jr. Street; Lindsey Miller took out Sydney Jung in Jr. Dragster Thunder and Kyle Wagenaar upended Austin Varner in Jr. Lightning.
In Sunday’s division finals competition, it was Brad Pattan leading the charge with a victory in Super Pro while Steve Kelly took the trophy in Pro. Pattan made a nice solid pass in the final to take the win when Sean Shaffer turned on the red light and Kelly was better at both ends of the track to knock out Lucas Hull with a 10.333 second run at 120.65 mph.
Gary Howe Jr. and Mark Canty joined the winner’s circle celebration as Howe won in Sportsman over Mark Owens and Canty put Don Vandehey on the trailer in Sportsman Motorcycle. Howe took a victory lap of 12.295 with Owens fouling at the start and Canty had a hundredth of a second lead at the start and held on for the win.
Cooper Chun captured the Jr. Street title taking out Ella Flett with a lap of 11.281 to Flett’s quicker 9.629, and in the Summit Jr. Drag Racing League it was Ryan Bese winning over Ryan Dick in Jr Thunder and Kyle Wagenaar doubling up on the weekend in Jr. Lightning. Bese went 9.124, 70.61 in his win and Wagenaar clocked in at 7.895 seconds for the win and his second trophy of the weekend.
The following are Saturday’s final results from the 2018 NHRA Summit Racing Series Northwest Division Race of Champions:

Pat Osmundson, Pasco, Wash., '01 Mullis, 8.982, 165.97 def. Scott Wear, Spokane, Wash., '77 Vega, foul. 
Matt Kielman, Vancouver, Wash., '70 Nova, 10.553, 125.75 def. Gregg Heriford, Vancouver, Wash., '72 Vega, 10.614, 126.53.
Devin Froud, Spanaway, Wash., '67 Mustang, 12.271, 110.13 def. Lori Winberg, Eugene, Ore., '64 Mustang, foul. 
Scott Grondahl, Nampa, Idaho, '11 BMW, 9.943, 130.53 def. Terry Holloway, Yakima, Wash., '03 Suzuki Gsxr, 9.662, 135.78. 

Damien Chinn, Wapato, Wash., '74 Mustang, 12.855, 89.01 def. Thomas Vickers, Bremerton, Wash., '72 Datsun 240z, broke. 
Calli Deming, Nampa, Idaho, '05 Chevy Pickup, 10.828, 68.97 def. Grady Halverson, Kuna, Idaho, '07 Taurus, foul. 
Lindsey Miller, Yakima, Wash., dragster, 8.981, 76.51 def. Sydney Jung, Surrey, B.C., dragster, 9.308, 69.58. 

Kyle Wagenaar, Redcliff, Alb., dragster, 7.961, 76.66 def. Austin Varner, Astoria, Ore., dragster, 8.107, 79.71. 
Final Race of Champions Team Points
1. Woodburn Dragstrip: 49 
2. Firebird Raceway: 44 
3. Renegade Raceway: 43
4. Portland Int'l Raceway 40 
5. Bremerton Raceway: 37
6. MHDRA Dragstrip: 31 
7. Pacific Raceways: 30
8. Walla Walla Drag Strip 30 
9. Mission Raceway: 20 
10. Spokane County Raceway 18 
11. Madras Dragstrip: 13 
12. Lost Creek Raceway: 8
13. Coos Bay Speedway: 4
14. Medford Dragstrip: 3
The following are Sunday's final results from the 2018 NHRA Summit Racing Series Northwest Division Finals:
Team Championship 
1. Portland Int'l Raceway 86
2. Firebird Raceway: 81
3. Woodburn Dragstrip 70
4. Bremerton Raceway: 53
5. Renegade Raceway: 44
6. Pacific Raceways: 39
7. Walla Walla Drag Strip 30
8. Mission Raceway: 24
9. Madras Dragstrip: 20
10. Spokane County Raceway 19
11. MHDRA Dragstrip: 19
12. Lost Creek Raceway 10
13. Medford Dragstrip: 5
14. Coos Bay Speedway: 3
Brad Pattan, Emmett, Idaho, '68 Firebird, 10.094, 130.69 def. Sean Shaffer, Boise, Idaho, '02 Undercover, foul. 
Steve Kelly, Ridgefield, Wash., '67 Camaro, 10.333, 120.65 def. Lucas Hull, Middleton, Idaho, '89 Mustang, 10.861, 119.93. 
Gary Howe Jr., Gig Harbor, Wash., '71 Skylark, 12.295, 94.05 def. Mark Owens, Walla Walla, Wash., '79 Chevy LUV, foul. 
Mark Canty, Vancouver, Wash., '08 Kawasaki, 9.666, 122.16 def. Don Vandehey, Forest Grove, Ore., '78 Honda, 11.499, 112.38. 
Cooper Chun, Vancouver, Wash., '05 Ford, 11.281, 53.77 def. Ella Flett, Tillamook, Ore., '95 Mustang, 9.629, 74.00. 
Ryan Bese, Keizer, Ore., dragster, 9.124, 70.61 def. Ryan Dick, Astoria, Ore., dragster, 8.916, 74.80. 
Kyle Wagenaar, Redcliff, Alb., dragster, 7.895, 81.98 def. Bobby Burkevics Jr., Graham, Wash., dragster, 8.058, 80.12. 


BOISE, Idaho – NHRA’s top drag racers from tracks across the Northwest division will be at Firebird Raceway to square off in head-to-head competition at the annual NHRA Summit Racing Series Northwest Division Finals, Aug. 31 - Sept. 2. Drivers in eight classes: Super Pro, Pro, Sportsman, Motorcycle/Snowmobile, High School, Jr Street and two NHRA Summit Jr. Drag Racing League classes, will be on hand to compete for team and individual honors at the event.

Gates at Firebird Raceway will open at 7 a.m. each day. The gambler race and time trials will start Friday morning at 9 a.m. Time Trials continue Saturday at 8:30 a.m. with event eliminations scheduled for Sunday morning at 8:30 a.m. 

Saturday’s action will also feature the Race of Champions where the best racers from each track in Super Pro, Pro, Sportsman and Motorcycle/Snowmobile will compete for top honors and a chance to compete for the Summit National Championship at the Auto Club NHRA Finals at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona, in November. They will run against the winners from NHRA’s other six divisions for a $5,000 winner-take-all purse.  
Firebird Raceway is located at 8551 Hwy 16 Eagle, Idaho. For more information call the track at 208-938-8986, or visit www.firebirdonline.com