NHRA - National Hot Rod Association


Shirley Muldowney, three-time NHRA Top Fuel champ

27 Oct 2016
NHRA.com staff
Throwback Thursday

NHRA reporter Lewis Bloom takes a look back at the first driver to claim three Top Fuel championships -- Shirley Muldowney, who won Championships first in 1977, 1980, and 1982.

This weekend IN Las Vegas, Antron Brown is on the cusp of his third Top Fuel title. Other drivers in Top Fuel who have earned three or more Top Championships are Larry Dixon, Gary Scelzi, Don Garlits, Joe Amato, and Tony Schumacher.

In an interesting turn, in Muldowney last Top Fuel championship season in 1982, the second-place finisher was Mark Oswald, who today is the co-crew chief on Brown’s Matco Top Fuel car along with Brian Corradi.

Reigning NHRA Mello Top Fuel champion Antron Brown is so close in his bid to repeat as Top Fuel champion he can smell it. Indy bureau chief John Kernan caught up with the red hot champion to talk about being on history’s doorstep.