NHRA - National Hot Rod Association


2023 Wally Parks NHRA Nostalgia Nationals results from Famoso Dragstrip

Wittenberg, Cottrell, and Ramay dominated the 2023 Wally Parks Nostalgia Nationals in Bakersfield, Calif.
15 Oct 2023
Kevin McKenna, NHRA National Dragster Senior Editor
Wittenberg, Cottrell, and Ramay dominated the 2023 Wally Parks Nostalgia Nationals in Bakersfield

Wally Parks always had a way of uniting the best of hot rodders and racers' energies and skills, and in Bakersfield, Calif., the Wally Parks NHRA Motorsports Museum proved he still does. When it comes to Southern California drag racing, no name invokes more emotion, more camaraderie, or more competition than Wally's.

“We were excited to take nostalgia drag racing to a whole new level at Beech Bend Raceway and Famoso Dragstrip in 2023,” said Dale Coleman, Chairman of the Board of the Wally Parks NHRA Motorsports Museum. “We aim to create an environment that looks and feels like drag racing in the golden era of our sport. These races will be an opportunity for drag racing fans young and old to experience heads-up quarter-mile drag racing the way it was.” 

And as always, the Wally Parks NHRA Nostalgia Nationals is produced by and benefits the Wally Parks NHRA Motorsports Museum, an independent nonprofit 501(c)(3) educational and cultural organization. All proceeds (ticket sales, racer entries, merchandise sales, memberships, and donations) directly support the daily operations, program, and events of the Wally Parks NHRA Motorsports Museum— just as Wally would have wanted it. 

Here are the results from the 2023 Wally Parks NHRA Nostalgia Nationals in Bakersfield, Calif., which was also the ninth and final event in the 2023 NHRA Hot Rod Heritage Series.


Pete Wittenberg, near lane, qualified third in the quick Top Fuel field and then went the distance in eliminations with a 5.71 to stop Frank McBee Jr.

Bobby Cottrell, far lane, has been unstoppable this season in Nostalgia Funny Car and picked up another victory in Bakersfield with a 5.66 in the final to stop Brad Thompson’s System 1 Camaro.

The A/Fuel final featured the top two qualifiers and went to Wayne Ramay, near lane, who topped Kin Bates, 6.06 to 6.07.

Brad Woodard, near lane, scored another win in Jr. Fuel when he got the best of Dustin Lee in the final round. Woodard posted a 6.92 to cover Lee’s competitive 7.06.

The 7.0 Pro class featured a strong 20-car field with Kevin Rapozo, far lane, making it to the final to face Tony Trimp. Rapozo came out on top by a narrow margin, 7.031 to 7.032.

 A thousandth of a second separated the finalists in A/Gas with Cliff Boyes, far lane, claiming the narrow 7.634 to 7.622 holeshot win against Austin Frye.

Mike Rabener, near lane, scored in the B/Gas class thanks to a close 8.598 to 8.597 double-breakout win against Vincent Reali.

Gary Lynch was on the money in the C/Gas final when he drove his ’58 Austin to a 9.605 to claim the title against Billy Teague, who wasn’t far behind with a 9.636.

A near-perfect .007 light helped Steve Barta, near lane, claim the win in D/Gas over Dan Schrokosch, 10.574 to 10.552 in a double breakout.

Daniel Engle, far lane, was rock-solid in the final of Nostalgia I with a .010 light and a 7.613 to defeat Steve Schoenfeld, who made it close with a 7.594 breakout.

Troy Moyle, near lane, went the distance to win the Nostalgia II title with a .004 light and an 8.628 to narrowly hold off the 8.634 of runner-up Wes Anderson.

A double breakout settled the final in Nostalgia III with Neil Schindler, far lane, claiming a 9.589 to 9.530 win against Ron Anzlone’s vintage six-cylinder ’23-T.

Don Momi, near lane, triumphed over a big field of Hot Rod competitors, including a double-breakout win against Mark Beavin in the final round.

Mike O’Connor, far lane, used a holeshot to take the win in AA/Super over Chuck Moore, 7.073 to 6.894.

Dylan Winefsky and his Nitro Moose crew celebrated their victory in in the AA/FA class. Winefsky made a single run in the final after Mark Whynaught was unable to make the call.

Brett Williamson, near lane, clocked an impressive 5.917 in the Pro Mod final to hold off opponent Andy Kouerinis, who wasn’t too far behind with a 6.038.

Brendan Murray and his team celebrated their win in the Top Fuel B class. Murray cruised to a 6.034 in his win against Shawn VanHorne.