NHRA - National Hot Rod Association


NHRA SpringNationals Sportsman final-round video highlights

Four-time world champion Joey Severance recorded his milestone 25th career win and his second straight of the season at the Circle K NHRA Four-Wide Nationals. Watch his final-round win and those of all of the other event winners.
09 May 2022
NHRA National Dragster staff
Joey Severance

Four-time world champion Joey Severance  recorded his milestone 25th career win and his second straight of the season at the Circle K NHRA Four-Wide Nationals. Severance, who went more than three years between wins before scoring at the NHRA Four-Wide Nationals in Las Vegas a month earlier, ran 5.23 to handily defeat low qualifier Julie Nataas, who slowed from her torrid 5.21 semifinal pace to a 5.35. [video]

2020 world champion Doug Gordon appears to be back in championship form again, winning his second straight race with the Beta Motorcycles Camaro. Gordan, who has claimed seven of his 18 career wins in Texas, struck gold for the fourth time in Houston. After qualifying No. 1 and reaching the final, Gordon defeated the No. 2 qualifier, long overdue Bob McCosh, who logged his fifth career runner-up. [video]

Greg Kamplain, one of the most successful Comp drivers of the last decade, added another trophy to his mantle – his ninth in Comp and 11th overall – when he drove his and wife Judy’s new Mount Comfort RV B/Dragster Automatic entry to a (-.60) 6.75 to chase down three-time series winner Mike DePalma’s (-.57) 7.78 effort in the Sharp Racing A/SM G5. [video]

Harvey Emmons III successfully defended his Houston Super Stock title from 2021and won his fourth event at his home track when he stopped Brenda Grubbs in the final round. Emmons, who shared the winner’s circle with his brother, Jerry, overcame Grubbs’ near-perfect reaction time to win with a 9.711 on his 9.70 dial behind the wheel of his Lucas Oil Products Cavalier. [video]

Reigning Stock world champ Jerry Emmons  kicked off his title defense with a win at his home event in Houston. Emmons earned career win No. 18 after Brandon Bakies fouled. Emmons won his first national event title in Houston in 1990 and was also the defending champ from the 2021 event. [video]

Michael Holcombe, who got his drag racing career started at age 8 in Jr. Dragsters at Houston Raceway Park back in 1994, used his intimate knowledge of the famed facility to his advantage in the final round, putting together an eight-thousandths package (.006 reaction/8.902) to defeat two-time and reigning world champ Christopher Dodd, who had a .004 light of his own but slowed to an 8.91. [video]

Keith Purvis, another longtime competitor at Houston Raceway Park, said goodbye to his hometown track in grand style with his first national event win. Purvis pushed his Pontiac-powered Clark Freight Lines Firebird to a near-perfect 9.903 in the final round to defeat 16-time winner and 2014 Houston champ Austin Williams.  [video]

Seventeen years after scoring his first career national event win, at the 2005 event at Houston Raceway Park, Chris LeBlanc  came full circle for his fourth career win –- three of which have come in Super Street –- eking out a final-round in by just .001-second over fellow Texan and first-time finalist Don Snow to keep his perfect final-round record intact. [video]

Following a runner-up finish at the 2013 JEGS NHRA Cajun SPORTSnaitonals, Chris Arnold earned a long-awaited first national event win in Houston, and he did it in style with a win against world champion Darian Boesch in the final. Arnold was solid in the final with a .019 light and a 6.902 against his 6.88 dial. [video]

Past JEGS NHRA Cajun SPORTSnationals champ Mark Jones  picked up his second NHRA national event Wally when he topped Wayne Landry in Top Dragster presented by Vortech Superchargers. Jones, driving one of the quickest cars in the field, posted a .017 light and a 6.29 on his 6.26 dial to secure the win by just .0003-second in the closest final of the event. Landry probably deserved better after a race that included wins against Darian Boesch and Aaron Stanfield. [video]