NHRA - National Hot Rod Association

JEGS Allstars Fast Facts

01 Sep 2020
Posted by NHRA.com staff

Now celebrating its 36th year, the JEGS Allstars competition is one of the most highly anticipated events of the season for racers in the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series. Racers can only qualify for one of the coveted spots on the JEGS Allstars team by winning a year-long competition within each of NHRA's seven geographic divisions.
Individual racers in the JEGS Allstars event will be competing for a share of more than $150,000 in cash awards posted by JEGS Mail Order. There will also be an overall team championship earned, with the members of that division will split a $20,000 bonus. In addition, there is close to $50,000 in manufacturer posted contingency awards available to the finalists this year.

  • Any driver who can win the JEGS Allstars on Saturday and then return to win the Denso Spark Plugs NHRA U.S. Nationals title the following day will automatically be eligible for a "double-up" bonus from JEGS Mail Order. 
  • Current NHRA pros Jeg Coughlin Jr., Aaron Stanfield, Bruno Massel, and Shawn Langdon are all former winners of the JEGS Allstars race.
  • Last year, the team from the NHRA South Central Division (Division 4) won its record-tying eighth team title in the JEGS Allstars. The Division 4 team was led by Jeff Lopez, Christopher Dodd, Cy Hill, and Darian Boesch. 
  • The North Central Division (Division 3) also has eight overall JEGS Allstars titles, while the teams from the Northeast Division (Division 1), Southeast Division (Division 2), and South Central Division are tied with seven overall titles.
  • Since 1985, the JEGS Allstars has been contested in four locations; Bowling Green, Ky., Indianapolis, Columbus, Ohio, and Chicago.
  • There are 14 former or current NHRA national champions racing in this year's JEGS Allstars event. They are, Megan Meyer, Joey Severance, Frank Aragona Jr., Lee Zane, Craig Bourgeois, David Rampy, Doug Doll, Jeff Strickland, Justin Lamb, Jeff Lopez, Jeremy Mason, John Labbous Jr., David Tatum III, and Mike Ferderer.
  • There are eight women in this year's JEGS Allstars field. Sisters Megan and Rachel Meyer will compete in Top Alcohol Dragster, where they are joined by Jackie Fricke and Julie Natass. Annie Whiteley will race in Top Alcohol Funny Car as part of the Central Region team. Allison Doll will race in Stock for the Northeast Division team, Paige Coughlin is making her first appearance as a JEGS Allstar in Super Comp for the North Central Division, and Victoria Johnson is racing in Top Dragster for the West Central Division.
  • The only driver to double-up at a JEGS Allstars race is Trevor Larson, who won the Super Comp and Super Gas titles in 2015. Larson has returned in 2020 as the Division 5 Super Comp rep.
  • Three drivers are competing in two classes and will have a chance to double-up. They are Jeff Strickland (Top Dragster/Stock), Vernon Rowland (Super Comp/Super Gas), and Darien Boesch (Top Dragster/Top Sportsman).
  • Mary Ann Method was the first woman to win the JEGS Allstars with her Stock victory in 1995. Since then, three others have joined her including the late Shelly Howard (Top Alcohol Dragster, 2004), Lynn Hoosigian (Super Street, 2006), Brenda Grubbs (Stock, 2008).
  • For the second-straight year, the husband-wife team of Doug and Allison Doll racing for the Northeast Division in Comp and Stock.
  • The most successful driver in the history of the JEGS Allstars is Frank Manzo who has 10 wins in the Top Alcohol Funny Car class.
  • David Rampy, who retired last season after 104 national event wins, has returned to compete for the one title that has eluded him, the JEGS Allstars. He will race in Super Stock for the Division 4 team. 

By The Numbers -- JEGS Allstars Edition

  •  3 -- Drivers with a chance to double-up, Jeff Strickland, Vernon Rowland, and Darien Boesch
  • 8 -- Women in the JEGS Allstars field 
  • 8 -- JEGS Allstars Team Championships for Division 3 and 4
  • 10 -- JEGS Allstars wins for Frank Manzo
  • 14 -- World champions in this year's field
  • 36 -- Years for the JEGS Allstars competition