NHRA - National Hot Rod Association


Gainesville Funny Car Sunday results: E1

Seven of the eight first-round winners (and three of the losers) ran in the three-second zone and none was happier than Tommy Johnson, who bounced back after blowing the body off Saturday night.
17 Mar 2019
NHRA National Dragster staff
Race coverage
Tommy Johnson Jr.

Tommy Johnson Jr. and crew chief John Collins didn’t have the quickest of a flurry of three-second passes in the opening round, but after blowing the body off Saturday night, they were happy to light the win light with a 3.93 against John Smith.

Low qualifier Robert High had the quickest run of the stanza, a 3.869 that was just .001-second off of his qualifying pace. As testimony to the job performed by the NHRA Safety Safari presented by AAA after the rain delay, Matt Hagan and Jonnie Lindberg in their clash, Cruz Pedregon and Shawn Langdon in theirs, and Ron Capps and Bob Tasca III all made side-by-side three-second passes, with Hagan, Pedregon, and Capps advancing. Seven of the eight winners ran in the threes, the outlier being Tim Wilkerson in a tire-spinning, cylinder-dropping victory over Dave Richards.

Second-round pairings (lane choice first): Robert Hight vs. Ron Capps; John Force vs. Matt Hagan; Cruz Pedregon vs. Tim Wilkerson; Jack Beckman vs. Tommy Johnson Jr.