NHRA - National Hot Rod Association


Torrence, Capps, Anderson win season-opening event

14 Feb 2016

Schedule | Tickets | Entries | Results

Team reports | Photos | Race Notes

Ron Capps raced to his first Funny Car victory in nearly a year Sunday at the Circle K NHRA Winternationals at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona.

Steve Torrence (Top Fuel) and Greg Anderson (Pro Stock) also were winners at the season-opening NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series event near Los Angeles.

Capps emerged from a strong-performing field as the winner and had to defeat defending world champion Del Worsham in the final round to take his 46th victory. He outran Jeff Diehl, Chad Head, and Robert Hight in earlier rounds.

In the final, Capps used a quicker reaction time and covered the distance in 3.981 seconds at 324.28 mph in his NAPA Auto Parts Dodge Charger to hold off the hard-charging DHL Toyota Camry of Worsham, which posted a quicker but losing performance of 3.962 at 324.36.

It was the third Winternationals win for the popular San Diego driver who calls the historic Southern California track a second home.

Ron Capps

Steve Torrence

Greg Anderson

“This is the most fabled track we go to, and it’s the birthplace of drag racing; it is unbelievable to win here,” Capps said. “I can’t wait to get this season going. You wonder if you are ever going to see one of these [trophies] again. I am racing Del Worsham in the final, who is one of the best. We threw down. What a race. Just to know we can get in the circle and get another Wally feels good.”

In Top Fuel, red-hot Torrence powered to his first Winternationals victory and his sixth win by outrunning Doug Kalitta in the final round. Torrence’s Capco Contractors dragster posted a 3.735 at 326.48 to edge Kalitta’s Mac Tools machine, which trailed with a 3.753 at 324.36.

Torrence, whose car has been running like a very consistent bracket dragster since preseason testing last week in Phoenix, used a string of low-3.7-second runs to beat Steve Faria, Morgan Lucas, and Richie Crampton in the first three rounds. He saved his quickest run on Sunday for the final to beat Kalitta.

“[Tuning consultant] Alan [Johnson] and [crew chief] Richard [Hogan] have worked really well together,” said Torrence, who becomes the Top Fuel points leader for the first time in his career. “Alan is that thorn who keeps poking Richard to tune it just a little bit farther. My crew guys have done a great job. I am just the guy that sits in there and gets to drive it. It feels good. I wish the season was over already. We are going to do what we can to keep the momentum going and go on to Phoenix and try to write a story just like this one.”

Four-time world champ Anderson earned the first win in the new EFI Pro Stock era, holding off his teammate Jason Line in a photo-finish final round. Anderson also won by using a holeshot start and finished in 6.617 at 207.85 in his Summit Racing Equipment Chevy Camaro to take the win over Line, whose 6.609 at 209.82 in his Summit Camaro wasn’t enough to make up for Anderson’s starting-line advantage.

“I feel honored to be the first winner of the fuel-injection era and get the first trophy,” said Anderson, who was the event’s No. 1 qualifier and advanced to the final with round-wins over Matt Hartford, five-time world champ Jeg Coughlin Jr., and last season’s top rookie, Drew Skillman. With the win, he denied his teammate a third consecutive Winternationals trophy.

“I got a great light in the final and got it done,” Anderson said. “It was my day. I can’t tell you how proud I am of this Summit Racing team.  It is getting better every run. That’s going to pay off down the road. Everybody out there is in a steep learning curve right now. The other competitors in our class are going home and work hard, and they will do better at Phoenix. We are going to have to buckle down and find something better again. Hopefully we will be better again come Phoenix.”

The NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series continues Feb. 26-28 at the CARQUEST Auto Parts NHRA Nationals at Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park near Phoenix.

Updated 2/14/2016 (Following the first of 24 events; season victories in parentheses)
1.Steve Torrence, Kilgore, Texas, Capco Contractors dragster (1)126
2.Doug Kalitta, Ypsilanti, Mich., Mac Tools dragster94
3.Richie Crampton, Indianapolis, Lucas Oil dragster77
4.J.R. Todd, Indianapolis, SealMaster dragster72
5.Clay Millican, Drummonds, Tenn., Parts Plus/Great Clips dragster57
6.Morgan Lucas, Brownsburg, Ind., Lucas Oil Racing TV dragster52
7.Antron Brown, Indianapolis, Matco Tools dragster48
8.Terry McMillen, Elkhart, Ind., Amalie Motor Oil dragster46
9.Tony Schumacher, Austin, Texas, U.S. Army dragster42
10.Brittany Force, Yorba Linda, Calif., Monster Energy dragster37
1.Ron Capps, Carlsbad, Calif., NAPA Auto Parts Dodge Charger (1)119
2.Del Worsham, Villa Park, Calif., DHL Toyota Camry97
3.Robert Hight, Yorba Linda, Calif., Auto Club Chevy Camaro80
4.John Force, Yorba Linda, Calif., Peak Antifreeze and Coolant Chevy Camaro69
5.Jack Beckman, Norco, Calif., Infinite Hero Dodge Charger65
6.Courtney Force, Yorba Linda, Calif., Traxxas Chevy Camaro59
7.Alexis DeJoria, Austin, Texas, Tequila Patron Toyota Camry55
8.Chad Head, Columbus, Ohio, WSM Auctioneers Toyota Camry54
9.Tim Wilkerson, Springfield, Ill., Levi, Ray & Shoup Ford Mustang33
10t.Gary Densham, Menifee, Calif., Densham Motorsports Dodge Charger32
10t.Matt Hagan, Christiansburg, Va., Mopar Express/Rocky Boots Dodge Charger32
10t.Cruz Pedregon, Brownsburg, Ind., Snap-on/Wix Filters Toyota Camry32
1.Greg Anderson, Mooresville, N.C., Summit Racing Equipment Chevy Camaro (1)125
2.Jason Line, Mooresville, N.C., Summit Racing Equipment Chevy Camaro105
3.Bo Butner, Floyd Knobs, Ind., Jim Butner Auto Chevy Camaro84
4.Drew Skillman, Bargersville, Ind., Ray Skillman Chevy Chevy Camaro75
5.Vincent Nobile, Dix Hills, N.Y., Mountain View Tire Chevy Camaro54
6.Jeg Coughlin Jr., Delaware, Ohio, Magneti Marelli/JEGS Dodge Dart53
7t.Shane Gray, Mooresville, N.C., Gray Manufacturing Tech Chevy Camaro52
7t.Allen Johnson, Greeneville, Tenn., Marathon Petroleum Dodge Dart52
9.Chris McGaha, Odessa, Texas, Harlow Sammons of Odessa Chevy Camaro35
10.Alex Laughlin, Granbury, Texas, Gas Monkey Garage/360 Wraps Chevy Camaro33