Three more drivers clinch spots in Countdown to 1 playoffs
Sunday, June 27, 2010

Reigning NHRA Full Throttle Pro Stock Motorcycle world champ Hector Arana, Top Fuel racer Cory McClenathan, and Pro Stock competitor Allen Johnson clinched berths in the Countdown to 1 playoffs as the result of racing at the 4th annual Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals.

That trio of racers join reigning world champs Mike Edwards (Pro Stock) and Tony Schumacher (Top Fuel) and Top Fuel racer Larry Dixon in qualifying for the playoffs.

McClenathan clinched his spot merely by making one qualifying run at Summit Motorsports Park Friday, and Arana and Johnson locked down their berths with first-round wins Sunday. Three of the 10 spots in Top Fuel are now secured, but no Funny Car racer has locked up a position.

The 17-race regular season of the Countdown to the Championship runs through the Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals in Brainerd Aug. 12-15 and sets 10-driver fields for the six-race Countdown to 1 playoffs that begin at the Mac Tools U.S. Nationals presented by Lucas Oil Sept. 1-6 and conclude at the Automobile Club of Southern California NHRA Finals Nov. 11-14.

Clinched spots (in order of clinch)
Top Fuel
1. Larry Dixon
2. Tony Schumacher
3. Cory McClenathan

Pro Stock
1. Mike Edwards
2. Allen Johnson

Pro Stock Motorcycle
1. Hector Arana