Edwards claims No. 1 spot in K&N Horsepower Challenge
Saturday, June 19, 2010

Mike Edwards will lead the field into the 2010 K&N Horsepower Challenge Pro Stock bonus event next weekend in Norwalk, facing Warren Johnson, who was voted in by the fans. Greg Anderson, Allen Johnson, Jason Line, Jeg Coughlin Jr., Ron Krisher, and Rodger Brogdon also qualified for the event.

After qualifying No. 2 for the NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals field, Edwards brought his total up to 4,270 points to easily grab the top spot on the Horsepower Challenge ladder. Anderson finished second with a distant 3,520 markers. Thunder Valley Nationals No. 1 qualifier Allen Johnson is the third qualifier with 3,405, followed by Line, who finished tied with Coughlin at 3,350 but won the tiebreaker to nab the final top-half spot. Line and Coughlin, the defending event winner, will square off in the opening round.

Krisher (3,205) and Brogdon (2,925) are the sixth and seventh qualifiers, respectively. Warren Johnson, the winningest Pro Stock driver in NHRA history, won the fan vote to compete in K&N Horsepower Challenge. It will be the 24th time the winningest Pro Stock driver in NHRA history has competed in the special bonus event. He will be the No. 8 seed and face off against top seed Mike Edwards in the first round.

First-round pairings:
Mike Edwards versus Warren Johnson
Greg Anderson versus Rodger Brogdon
Allen Johnson versus Ron Krisher
Jason Line versus Jeg Coughlin Jr.