NHRA Unleashed presented by Lucas Oil thrills racers at Atlanta Dragway
Tuesday, June 15, 2010

At the first NHRA Unleashed presented by Lucas Oil event, at Atlanta Dragway last weekend, thrilling doorslammer grassroots racing took center stage.

A car-show area filled with the finest vehicles in the Southeast, a children’s play area, a swap meet, and numerous interactive displays gave everyone an up-close-and-personal view of the event and drag racing.

“It was very gratifying to witness the birth of NHRA Unleashed presented by Lucas Oil at Atlanta Dragway this past weekend,” said Ray Wilkings, general manager of Atlanta Dragway. “The racers came out in large numbers to be a part of this inaugural event, and the racing action was outrageous. Their passion for heads-up Outlaw style racing was apparent, and they put on quite a show.” 

Champions at the first NHRA Unleashed presented by Lucas Oil event were awarded an NHRA Wally trophy, one of the hardest trophies to win and one of the most coveted. Winners included Robert Mathis in Dixie Pro Mods, Tim Lynch in Aerospace Components 10.5 Outlaw, Keith Szabo in Aerospace Components Limited Street, Jimmy Martin in Aerospace Components Easy Street, Jody Voyles in Aerospace Components Modified Street, Danny Bytnar in Aerospace Components 8.5 Index, Stan Sinack in Aerospace Components 10.0 Index, Mark Young in Aerospace Components 11.0 Index, Howard Warren in Aerospace Components 12.0 Index, and Jacob Rutledge in Aerospace Components 13.0 Index.

“The highlight of the event was the presentation of the coveted Wally trophy to each winner in front of the Disrupt/ive Studios crew for FSN Television,” continued Wilkings. “It was a great start to an exciting series of new televised events, and the competitors can't wait for the next NHRA Unleashed event at O'Reilly Raceway Park at Indianapolis.”

Steve Watson and Sara Karges will host the NHRA Unleashed presented by Lucas Oil television shows produced by Disrupt/ive Studios when they hit the airwaves beginning Nov. 7, at 10 a.m. on Fox Sports Net’s owned and operated regional networks. Disrupt/ive Studios, producer of the wildly popular Pinks, Pinks All Out, and Pinks All Outtakes, has the daunting task of condensing the more than 50 hours of footage shot at Atlanta Dragway into two thrilling half-hour shows that will chronicle the weekend.

The first casting session for Who Wants to Be a Race Car Driver?, a new reality TV show in development with Disrupt/ive Studios, took place as well during the weekend. Would-be racers moved through the audition line to see if they had what it took to get a shot at their dream job: a one-year completely funded ride in an NHRA series.

In the car show, Best of Show and Best Mopar honors went to Greg and Martha Stiles' '70 Dodge Challenger. David Briles earned the Best General Motors award with his '71 Corvette, and Best Ford accolades went to Robert Preston and his '67 Fairlane. David Parker and Lamar Harwell shared the Best Truck honor with their '71 Chevrolets. 

Tickets for the NHRA Unleashed presented by Lucas Oil event at O’Reilly Raceway Park at Indianapolis are on sale for racers and spectators. Tickets can be purchased by logging on to www.NHRAtix.com. The last two NHRA Unleashed presented by Lucas Oil events of 2010 will take place at National Trail Raceway Sept. 10-12 and Gainesville Raceway Nov. 5-7.   

Dixie Pro Mods

Winner: Robert Mathis, Baker, Fla., 4.133, 179.92, .032 reaction time
R/U: Keith Baker, Dothan, Ala. (’63 Corvette) – 4.154, 176.53, .028 reaction time
No. 1 Qualifier: Ronnie Davis, Suwanee, Ga. (’63 Corvette) – 4.117, 181.45
Low e.t.: Steve Kirk, Monroe, Ga. (’63 Corvette) – 4.069

Aerospace Components 10.5 Outlaw
Winner: Tim Lynch, Woodstock, Ga. (‘10 ZR1) – 4.603, 168.53, .048 reaction time
R/U: Dave Cox, Conway, S.C. (’04 Mustang) – 4.973, 156.83, .039 reaction time
No. 1 Qualifier: Tony Johnson, Conyers, Ga. (’69 Camaro) – 4.483, 171.38
Low e.t.: Johnson  – 4.483
Top Speed: Lynch – 177.35

Aerospace Components Limited Street
Winner: Keith Szabo, Gainesville (’93 Ford) – 4.899, 161.54, .016 reaction time
R/U: Eric Dillard, Woodstock, Ga. (’91 Mustang) – 4.869, 162.74 .050 reaction time
No. 1 Qualifier: Dillard – 4.740, 168.41
Low e.t.: Dillard – 4.740
Top Speed: Dillard – 168.41

Aerospace Components East Street
Winner: Jimmy Martin, Floville, Ga. (’93 Mustang) – 5.312, 137.30, .101 reaction time
R/U:  Wes Whittle, Mount Pleasant, S.C. (’00 Mustang) – 4.896, 162.74, .050 reaction time
No. 1 Qualifier: Martin – 5.050, 148.27
Low e.t.: Martin – 5.050
Top Speed: Martin – 155.61

Aerospace Components Modified Street
Winner: Jody Voyles, Douglasville, Ga. (’92 Camaro) – 5.350, 135.40, .034 reaction time
R/U: Charles Hawkins, Pinsor, Ala. (’05 Mustang) – 6.994, 70.49, .055 reaction time
No. 1 Qualifier: Voyles – 5.289, 136.10
Low e.t.: Voyles – 5.289
Top Speed: Voyles – 136.10

Aerospace Components 8.5 Index
Winner: Dan Bytnar, Cumming Ga. ('09 Mustang) – 8.554, 157.59, .034 reaction time
R/U: Brian Farrar, Oak Ridge, Tenn. (’57 Chevy) – 8.539, 156.35, .075 reaction time
No. 1 Qualifier: Jim Harris, Monroe, GA – 8.502

Aerospace Components 10.0 Index
Winner: Stan Sinack (’69 Dart) – 10.051, 124.38, .025 reaction time
R/U: David Lee, Suwanee, Ga. (’70 Nova) – 10.045, 137.81, .025 reaction time
No. 1 Qualifier: Jamie Doss, Providence, N.C. (’88 Ford) – 10. 017

Aerospace Components 11.0 Index
Winner: Mark Young, Kennesaw, Ga. (’04 Mustang) – 11.021, 117.87, .004 reaction time
R/U: Ricky Pennington, Calera, Ala. (’64 Chevelle SS2) – 10.986, 117.38, .034 reaction time
No. 1 Qualifier: Vince Putnam, Centerville, VA – 11.004

Aerospace Components 12.0 Index
Winner: Howard Warren, Douglasville, Ga. (’72 Maverick) – 12.007, 109.72, .028 reaction time
R/U: Shane Williams, Knoxville, Tenn. (’99 Mustang) – foul
No. 1 Qualifier: Glen Burich, Hudson, FL – 12.007

Aerospace Components 13.0 Index
Winner: Jacob Rutledge, Hoschton, Ga. (‘66 Chevy) – 13.038, 96.13, .047 reaction time
R/U: Jeff Wagner, Braselton, Ga. (’71 Duster) – 13.024, 97.91, .091 reaction time
No. 1 Qualifier: Brad Mizell, Marietta, GA – 13.004