Summit Series National Championship drawing held in Atlanta

15 May 2016
Summit drawing

In a special drawing for the NHRA Summit Racing Series National Championship, four NHRA Divisions were selected to send an extra racer to compete for the national championship at the season-ending Auto Club NHRA Finals at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona.

Summit Racing Equipment Pro Stock drivers Greg Anderson and Jason Line joined Summit’s Jim Greenleaf and Don Lower along with NHRA Division Director Rich Schaefer for the pre-race ceremony drawing at today’s Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Southern Nationals at Atlanta Dragway.

The Northwest Division (Division 6) was drawn for Super Pro, the Southeast Division (Division 2) for Pro, the Pacific Division (Division 7) for Sportsman, and the West Central Division (Division 5) for Motorcycle.  Each will bring the eighth man that will complete the eight-car field. For Divisions 2 and 5, their NHRA Summit Racing Series Finals Race of Champions winner will fill the eighth spot, and Divisions 6 and 7 will bring their event champion for the final spot.

The first seven racers in each class are made up of the NHRA Summit Racing Series Finals champions in each of the NHRA Divisions 1 through 5; Divisions 6 and 7 send their Race of Champions winner to the national championship competition.