Pacific Raceways takes Division 6 Summit Series team title

07 Sep 2016

MISSION, B.C. – Pacific Raceways captured the team championship while Sean Shaffer, John Leage, Mark Owens, and Kevin Bromley took home the individual honors at the NHRA Northwest Division Summit Racing Series Finals at Mission Raceway Park.

Shaffer worked his way through the field in Super Pro and ran 7.283 seconds at 183.11 mph in his final-round victory over Emily Lewis, who clocked in at 8.473 seconds, 154.95 mph.

In Pro, it was Leage who outlasted the competition, knocking out Rob Lindley in the final with a pass of 10.532 seconds, 125.48 mph while Owens defeated Martin Dykstra with a time of 13.181 at 101.53 mph for the Sportsman title.

Bromley rounded out the event winners with a lap of 9.836 seconds, 131.92 mph to take down Chad Hofert.

In the Summit Race of Champions competition, it was Dave Burden taking the win in Super Pro over MHDRA Dragstrip teammate Mark Simmons. Burden’s ’64 Chevelle went 6.146 seconds at 112.95 over to the quicker Simmons’ 4.736, 145.60 in his dragster.

Chris Stone, Mission, B.C., defeated another MHDRA racer Jason Hughes in Pro while Gary Howe Jr. took the Sportsman ROC trophy against Troy McDonald and the Bike/Sled title went to Bob Henrie who outran Zach Toth. Stone was out first and went 6.424 seconds to hold off Hughes’ 6.004. Howe left a tick quicker than McDonald and drove his ’71 Skylark to the win, and Henrie’s ’09 Polaris sled outran Toth’s ’87 Kawasaki.

The four Race of Champions winners will advance to the NHRA Summit National Championship in November at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona to face off with the winners from the other six NHRA divisions for a winner-take-all national championship with more than $100,000 up for grabs.

In the High School Race of Champions it was Ashley Thompson, Camas, Wash., winning over Jordin Howell, Port Orchard, Wash., running 12.520, 105.60.

The Summit Jr. Drag Racing League was also in action with Josh Schmanke, Beau Dickie and Kelsey Lefebvre taking wins in the Race of Champions competition while Hunter Jackson, Tanner Gaetz and Tyler Dobson won in the Jr. Dragster classes for the overall event.

The following are the final results from the NHRA Northwest Division Summit Racing Series event at Mission Raceway:

Pacific Raceways 68
Woodburn Dragstrip 62
Bremerton Raceway 56
Portland Int’l Raceway 49
Mission Raceway 46
Firebird Raceway 38
MHDRA Dragstrip 28
Nl’Akapxm Eagle Motorplex 17
Renegade Raceway 16
Walla Walla Drag Strip 15
Madras Dragstrip 9
Spokane County Raceway 7
Lewistown Raceway 2

Sean Shaffer, Boise, Idaho, '02 dragster, 7.283, 183.11 def.
Emily Lewis, Maple Valley, Wash., '12 dragster, 8.473, 154.

John Leage, Poulsbo, Wash., '69 Camaro, 10.532, 125.48 def.
Rob Lindley, Spanaway, Wash., '63 Nova, 9.121, 146.67

Mark Owens, Walla Walla, Wash., '79 Chevy Luv, 13.181, 101.53 def.
Martin Dykstra, Chilliwack, B.C., '69 Dart, 12.584, 105.63

Kevin Bromley, Yacolt, Wash., '06 Honda, 9.836, 131.92 def.
Chad Hofert, Meridian, Idaho, ‘12 Kawasaki, 9.050,151.71

The following are the final results from the NHRA Northwest Division Race of Champions:

Dave Burden, Medicine Hat, A.B.,

Chris Stone, Mission, B.C., ’68 Dart, 6.424, 100.15, def.
Jason Hughes, Lagdon, A.B., ’32 roadster, 6.004, 113.36

Gary Howe Jr, Gig Harbor, Wash., '71 Skylark, 7.633, 87.25 def.
Troy McDonald, Nampa, Idaho, ’15 Mustang, 7.856, 88.15

Bob Henrie, Conconully, Wash., ’09 Polaris, 5.841, 116.85 def.
Zach Toth, Medicine Hat, A.B., ’87 Kawasaki, 6.803, 93.44

Ashley Thompson, Camas, Wash., ’79 Malibu, 12.520, 105.60 def.
Jordin Howell, Port Orchard, Wash., ’12 Fusion, 16.794, 78.76