NHRA 4-Wide Nationals

Thursday, April 14, 2011

2nd annual NHRA 4-Wide Nationals
April 14-17
zMAX Dragway
6570 Bruton Smith Blvd.
Concord, NC 28027
Elevation: 630 feet
Tickets:; 800-455-FANS (3267)
Radio Frequency: 91.1 FM
The once-a-year spectacle of four-wide drag racing, introduced for competition last year, returns to zMAX Dragway as the NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series makes its first of two stops at the self-proclaimed “Bellagio of dragstrips.” The track, which has hosted an NHRA national event in mid-September since 2008, is famous for its fan amenities. The tour returns to the venue later in the year for traditional two-wide racing as part of the Countdown playoffs.
2010 recap: Cory McClenathan, John Force, Mike Edwards, and Matt Smith collected memorable victories at the first NHRA event featuring four-wide racing for points. In the finals, McClenathan edged Antron Brown, Doug Kalitta, and Doug Herbert for Top Fuel honors, and Force fended off daughter Ashley Force Hood, Ron Capps, and Matt Hagan in the Funny Car shootout. Edwards outran Greg Stanfield, Bob Yonke, and Jason Line in the Pro Stock final, and Smith held off Hector Arana, Steve Johnson, and Michael Phillips in Pro Stock Motorcycle.
How to Get There: From Charlotte (south) or Greensboro, N.C. (north), take I-85 to Exit 49 (Bruton Smith Boulevard/Concord Mills), then head east; parking is available on the right. From Charlotte, take I-85 north to Exit 48 (I-485 East); then follow I-485 to Exit 32 (Highway 29/North Tryon), turn left onto Highway 29 North/North Tryon; parking is available on the left. From South Carolina, take I-77 North to Exit 1 (I-485 East), then follow I-485 to Exit 32 (Highway 29/North Tryon). Take Highway 29 North to the speedway; parking is available on the left. From Statesville, N.C., take I-77 South to Exit 25. Turn left on Highway 73 (Sam Furr Road), then right on Poplar Tent to I-85 South toward Charlotte. Take Exit 49 (Bruton Smith Boulevard), then head east toward the speedway.
Visitor Information: