O’Reilly Auto Parts NHRA Spring Nationals

Friday, April 29, 2011

24th annual O’Reilly Auto Parts NHRA Spring Nationals
presented by Pennzoil
April 29-May 1
Royal Purple Raceway
2525 FM 565 South
Baytown, TX 77523
Elevation: 10 feet
Tickets: 281-383-RACE (7223); 281-383-2666
Radio Frequency: 87.9 FM
Royal Purple Raceway benefits from incredible atmospheric conditions because of its proximity to Trinity Bay, which feeds the facility cool air. The track’s first NHRA national event, in fall 1988, established RPR as one of the sport’s quickest with NHRA’s first four-second Top Fuel quarter-mile pass and a new national record. Since then, the track has hosted a dizzying array of record runs, including the first sub-4.5-second Top Fuel quarter-mile pass by Larry Dixon in 1999. Pro Stock Motorcycles and Pro Mods will also compete at the event.
2010 recap: Matt Hagan’s first Funny Car win and Larry Dixon’s 50th in Top Fuel highlighted a spectacular race day. Jeg Coughlin Jr. and Andrew Hines earned respective wins in Pro Stock and Pro Stock Motorcycle. From the opening round of Top Fuel through the final rounds, the day was filled with intense action, wild races, and upsets aplenty.
How to Get There: Baytown is about 25 miles east of downtown Houston. From downtown Houston, take I-10 east to SH 99 Grand Parkway (Exit 799) and go south to FM 565 (approximately 2 miles). Take FM 565 west (right), and the track is on the right.
Visitor Information: Baytown Chamber of Commerce, 281-422-8359