NHRA Story
NHRA New England Nationals coverage on ESPN
Friday, June 21, 2013


Catch all the action from this weekend’s Auto-Plus NHRA New England Nationals on ESPN networks. The qualifying show is scheduled for Saturday, June 22 at 8:30 p.m. (ET)/5:30 p.m. (PT) on ESPN/ESPNHD with Sunday’s race day coverage June 23, beginning at 7 p.m. (ET)/4 p.m. (PT) on ESPN2/ESPN2ND

Here’s what the viewers at home can expect when they tune-in this weekend:

The Mello Yello NHRA Drag Racing series is heading into New Hampshire for the inaugural Auto-Plus NHRA New England Nationals at New England Dragway. Cars have been drag racing down this strip since 1966 and the New England area has embraced the sport. Legends like Shirley Muldowney raced here and some new drivers will make a name for themselves this weekend.

John Force had one the most emotional wins in the past decade with his Father’s Day with at the Ford NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals. With a dominating car this past weekend, will he be able to finally challenge the Don Schumacher Racing Funny Car juggernaut again?

Why do the Funny Car teams lift up the bodies after they've burned out and backed up? Mike Dunn will explain step-by-step why the teams do this and what they're adjusting before they send these 8,000-horsepower rockets down the track.

Plus, a behind the scenes look at local favorite and Rhode Island resident Bob Tasca, driver of the Motorcraft/Quick Lane Ford Shelby Mustang, and his take on racing in New England and the track that has so many NHRA memories for him and his family.

Qualifying
Saturday, June 22: 8:30 p.m. (ET)/5:30 p.m. (PT) ESPN/ESPNHD

Raceday
Sunday, June 23: 7 p.m. (ET)/4 p.m. (PT) ESPN2/ESPN2HD