NHRA Story
Three live broadcasts highlight 2014 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series TV schedule
Tuesday, April 15, 2014


The NHRA, in conjunction with broadcast partner ESPN, will feature three live broadcasts during the remainder of the 2014 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series.

Hosted by Dave Rieff and analysis by Mike Dunn, the first live event will air on ESPN with three hours of coverage of the Auto-Plus NHRA New England Nationals in Epping, N.H., on June 22 from 2-5 p.m. EDT. The next live broadcast will be the O’Reilly Auto Parts Route 66 NHRA Nationals in Chicago on ESPN2 June 29 for three hours from 3-6 p.m. EDT. The Mopar Mile-High NHRA Nationals in Denver on July 20 will be a three-and-a-half-hour show on ESPN from 2:30-6 p.m. EDT.

Last season, viewers of the Houston event witnessed live elimination rounds of the world’s most powerful form of motorsports and were given a blow-by-blow account of the challenges facing the teams in their bid to hoist an NHRA Wally. This year, the live Sunday broadcast will not only feature the intense on-track action but also highlight the drama and intensity in the pits to see which teams will rise to the challenge of preparing their cars for each subsequent round of racing.

The first two sessions are to be aired on a very short tape-delayed basis, but the network will catch the race-day action live, beginning with the semifinals. From there, the cameras will stay with the racing action as teams advance to the final round on a short turnaround time. The time between rounds will make the pit stops between semifinal and final rounds among the most intense and exciting in all of motorsports as teams service their race vehicles and return to the starting line. Watching the live action will raise the pulse of the viewers as the racers do battle live at the track.

The broadcasts of the Countdown to the Championship will have a new aspect, as all of the qualifying shows in the six-race playoff will re-air on Sunday afternoon. This will allow the viewers an opportunity to catch all the qualifying action prior to the start of the final round coverage Sunday evening. Airtimes for the rebroadcasted qualifying shows will be on NHRA.com leading up to event weekend.

All air dates and times are subject to change and NHRA.com will have updated event airtimes and dates for each of the remaining NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series events.     
 
 

2014 NHRA MELLO YELLO DRAG RACING SERIES TV SCHEDULE (remaining schedule)
O'Reilly Auto Parts NHRA SpringNationals Houston
ESPN2, Quals. 6-8 p.m., Sat., April 26,
ESPN2, Elims. 7-10 p.m., Sun., April 27
 
Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Southern Nationals Atlanta
ESPN2, Quals. 10 p.m.-Midnight, Sat., May 17
ESPN2, Elims. 7-10 p.m., Sun., May 18
 
NHRA Kansas Nationals Topeka, Kan.
ESPN2, Quals. 6-8 p.m., Sat., May 24
ESPN2, Elims. 10 p.m.-1 a.m., Sun., May 25
 
Toyota NHRA Summernationals Englishtown, N.J.
ESPN, Quals. 4:30-6 p.m., Sat., May 31
ESPN2, Elims. 4-7 p.m., Sun., June 1
 
Ford NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals Bristol, Tenn.
ESPN2, Quals. 6-8 p.m., Sat., June 14
ESPN2, Elims. 11 p.m.-1 a.m., Sun., June 15
 
Auto-Plus NHRA New England Nationals Epping, N.H
ESPN2, Quals. 7-8 p.m., Sat., June 21
.ESPN, Elims. 2-5 p.m., Sun., June 22
 
O'Reilly Auto Parts Route 66 NHRA Nationals Chicago
ESPN2, Quals. 7-9 p.m., Sat., June 28
ESPN2, Elims. 3-6 p.m., Sun., June 29
 
Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals Norwalk, Ohio
ESPN2, Quals. 5:30-7:30 p.m., Sat., July 5
ESPN2, Elims. 7-10 p.m., Sun., July 6
   
Mopar Mile-High NHRA Nationals Denver
ESPN2, Quals. 11 p.m.-1 a.m., Sat., July 19
ESPN, Elims. 2:30-6 p.m., Sun., July 20
 
NHRA Sonoma Nationals Sonoma, Calif.
ESPN, Quals. 7-8 p.m., Sat., July 26
ESPN2,Elims. 9 p.m.-Midnight, Sun., July 27
 
O'Reilly Auto Parts NHRA Northwest Nationals Seattle
ESPN2, Quals. 10-11:30 p.m., Sat., Aug. 2
ESPN2, Elims. 8-11 p.m., Sun., Aug. 3
 
Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals Brainerd, Minn.
ESPN2, Quals. 11 p.m.-1 a.m., Sat., Aug. 16
ESPN2, Elims. 9 p.m.-Midnight, Sun., Aug. 17
 
Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals Indianapolis
ESPN2, Quals. 11 a.m.-2 p.m., Sun., Aug. 31
ESPN2, Quals. 5-7 p.m., Sun., Aug. 31
ESPN2, Elims. Noon-6 p.m., Mon., Sept. 1
 
NHRA Carolina Nationals Charlotte, N.C.
ESPN2, Quals. 3:30-5 a.m., Sun., Aug. 14
ESPN2,Quals. Re-air Sun., Aug. 14
ESPN2, Elims. 8:30-11:30 p.m., Sun., Aug. 14
 
AAA Texas NHRA Fallnationals Dallas
ESPN2, Quals. 3:30-5 a.m., Sun., Aug. 21
ESPN2,Quals. Re-Air Sun., Aug. 21
ESPN2, Elims. 8:30-11:30 p.m., Sun., Aug. 21
 
AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals St. Louis
ESPN2, Quals. 3:30-5 a.m., Sun., Sept. 28
ESPN2,Quals. Re-Air Sun., Aug. 28
ESPN2, Elims. 8-11p.m., Sun., Sept. 28
 
NHRA Nationals Reading, Pa.
ESPN2, Quals. 4-5:30 a.m., Sun., Oct. 5
ESPN2,Quals.Re-Air Sun., Oct. 5
ESPN2, Elims. 8-11 p.m., Sun., Oct. 5
 
NHRA Toyota Nationals Las Vegas
ESPN2, Quals. 2:30-4 a.m., Sun., Nov. 1
ESPN2,Quals. Re-Air Sun., Nov. 1
ESPN2, Elims. 6-9 p.m., Sun., Nov. 1
 
Auto Club NHRA Finals Pomona, Calif.
ESPN2, Quals. 1:30-3 a.m., Sun., Nov. 16
ESPN2,Quals. Re-Air Sun., Nov. 16
ESPN2, Elims. 7:30-10:30 p.m., Sun., Nov. 16
 
All times listed are Eastern.