Posted by: NHRA.com staff
Alexis DeJoria Racing has been associated with raising cancer awareness since the team’s inception in 2011. Over the past three years the team has provided hundreds of free mammograms to NHRA fans, and this weekend at the NHRA Finals in Pomona, Calif., the team will continue their philanthropic endeavors as they race to raise awareness for the Pancreatic Cancer Action Network.
“This weekend we’re promoting Wage Hope for pancreatic cancer, which is a subject that is near and dear to my family,” said DeJoria, pilot of the 10,000-horsepower Patrón XO Cafe Incendio Toyota Camry Funny Car.
The Pancreatic Cancer Action Network’s ‘Wage Hope’ logo is prominently featured on the rear and side windows of DeJoria’s Patrón XO Cafe Incendio Toyota Camry, in an effort to raise awareness for the often under-publicized disease.
“Wage Hope is a relentless call to action to keep fighting for those battling pancreatic cancer, a disease with a five-year survival rate of only seven percent,” said Julie Fleshman, President and CEO of the Pancreatic Cancer Action Network. “With more supporters like Alexis DeJoria, we can rewrite the future for pancreatic cancer and achieve our goal to double survival by 2020.”
“My father’s best friend and business partner, Paul Mitchell, died of pancreatic cancer many years ago.  I saw the deterioration in him. The whole thing was incredibly sad. I’m proud that we’re able to support a good cause and bring awareness to pancreatic cancer,” said DeJoria, daughter of John Paul DeJoria, co-founder of John Paul Mitchell Systems.
“We’ll be thinking of Paul Mitchell in spirit this weekend. With the Wage Hope stickers on our Toyota Camry, hopefully we will make more people aware of pancreatic cancer, because it truly is a silent killer.”
former Division 3 director Ferrell diesTuesday, October 20, 2015
Posted by: NHRA.com staff

Keith Ferrell, who served as NHRA’s Division 3 Director for six years in the 1980s, died Oct., 19 of congestive heart failure. He was 75.

Ferrell, who succeeded original Division 3 Director Bob Daniels at the helm of the division in 1980, was a former NHRA national record holder and engine builder before hanging up his helmet in 1977 and taking a series of operational positions at dragstrips around his Fairborn, Ohio, home.

Ferrell served as Competition Director at Edgewater Raceway Park in Cincinnati, then Tech Director at Kil-Kare Raceway in Xenia, Ohio, where also taught auto mechanics at Greene Vocation school. Before joining NHRA, he served for two years as track manager at Kil-Kare, during which time he also was a valuable member of the Division 3 Bracket Steering Committee, where he developed relationships with the track operators with whom he would later work as Division Director.

Ferrell left NHRA after the 1986 season and was replaced by current Division 3 Director Jay Hullinger, who is the longest tenured of the current seven directors.

Ferrell is survived by his wife, Virginia, son Tim, and daughter Teri. He is predeceased by daughter Tammy Oberhofer, wife of current NHRA Top Fuel crew chief Jim Oberhofer.

Posted by: NHRA.com staff

Fans and racers are welcome to enjoy a special night for a special cause as the Drag Racing Association of Women hosts its annual auction Saturday, Oct.17, at Texas Motorplex during the AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals

Numerous highly sought after collectible items will be auctioned off to help provide assistance to drivers and crew members injured in a drag racing accident at a track. Bob Frey, with the assistance of Alan Reinhart, will be offering these items up for bids.
The live auction, which begins at 7:30 p.m., will be held inside the Champion Club which is located next to the staging lanes.

Several of the biggest stars in the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series regularly attend and bidding wars provide as much entertainment as their contributions provide help for fellow racers.

The list of auction items range from artwork to collectables to racing parts and accessories is available on www.drawonline.org.

For more information or to donate an item, contact Rosalee Noble, rnoble@consolidated.net, 217-345-6537.

Posted by: NHRA.com staff

Courtesy Thomas Pope, Fayetteville Observer

Buddy Martin, along with his late former driver Ronnie Sox, is to be inducted into the North Carolina Auto Racing Hall of Fame in Mooresville Oct. 6. They are the first drag racers to be enshrined in the hall dominated by NASCAR racers.

Former NASCAR Cup driver Donnie Allison, whose older brother Bobby was the hall’s second inductee in 1998, also will be inducted this year.

The Sox & Martin cars were among the most successful in drag racing in the 1960s and ’70s. Based in Burlington, N.C., the team — with Martin as the manager, Sox as the driver, and Jake King as the crew chief — won five national championships. In 1970, Sox captured four of the six NHRA national events, and he won six of eight NHRA meets the following year.

Their early success was in the Super Stock ranks, where Sox’s skill earned him the nickname “Mr. 4-Speed.” He and Martin were pioneers who helped convince NHRA to form the Pro Stock class in 1970.

“This is a pretty big honor for us because we’re the first drag racers” in the Mooresville hall, Martin, 79, said Tuesday. “We’ve been very, very blessed. ...

“I just wish Ronnie and Jake could be here to see and enjoy this. I’m appreciating the recognition every day and the fact that people remember us.”

Sox, who was No. 15 on NHRA’s all-time top 50 drivers lists, died in 2006 after a long bout with cancer. King died in 1995, Martin said.

The Sox & Martin team has also been inducted into the International Drag Racing Hall of Fame in Ocala, Florida, and the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America near Detroit, which is relocating to Daytona International Speedway.

N.C. Auto Racing Hall of Fame inductees
1997 — Richard Petty
1998 — Bobby Allison
1999 — Tim Flock
2000 — Junior Johnson, Bill France Sr.
2001 — Ned Jarrett
2002 — Cale Yarborough
2003 — Ralph Moody Jr.
2004 — Dale Earnhardt
2005 — David Pearson
2006 — Darrell Waltrip
2007 — Buddy Baker
2008 — Benny Parsons
2009 — A.J. Foyt
2011 — Rusty Wallace
2012 — Glenn “Fireball” Roberts, Fred Lorenzen
2014 — Lee Petty, Harry Gant
2015 — Sox & Martin, Donnie Allison

Next Entries