DSR sweeps AARWBA 2012 All-America drag racing team honors
Thursday, December 20, 2012

Team owner Don Schumacher, center, with 2012 NHRA Top Fuel champ Antron Brown, left, and Funny Car champ Jack Beckman.

NHRA world champions Antron Brown and Jack Beckman were both named to the first team of the 2012 American Auto Racing Writers & Broadcasters Association's 2012 All-America team.

The Don Schumacher Racing champs were joined by teammates Tony Schumacher and Ron Capps, who earned second-team status for their championship runner-ups, leading to an impressive sweep of drag racing honors for Don Schumacher Racing.

Brown’s Matco Tools team won six NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series national event titles, and Beckman’s Valvoline NextGen/Schumacher Electric Dodge Charger R/T won three titles during the 2012 season. Both drivers also set NHRA national elapsed time records that helped propel them to prestigious world championships.

Schumacher, who made a miraculous charge at the season finale but finished seven points behind Brown, previously was voted to the first team seven times and won the Jerry Titus Memorial Trophy for Driver of the Year in 2006 and 2008. The Titus award winner for 2012 has not been announced.

Other first-team members are Ryan Hunter-Reay and Will Power, Open Wheel; Brad Keselowski and Jimmie Johnson, Stock Car; James Buescher and the team of Emil Assentato and Jeff Segal, Touring; the teams of Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas, and Klaus Graf and Lucas Luhr, Road Racing; Bryan Clauson and Donny Schatz, short track; and Johnny O'Connell and Tristan Vautier, At Large.

Joining Schumacher and Capps on the second team are Dario Franchitti and Scott Dixon/Helio Castroneves (tie), Open Wheel; Chris Dyson/Guy Smith (team) and Ryan Dalziel, Road Racing; Bobby East and Darrell Lanigan, Short Track; Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Clint Bowyer, Stock Car; Ricky Johnson and Oliver Gavin/Tommy Milner, Touring; and Jimmy Owens and drag racer Frank Manzo, At Large.