Vote for your favorite Pro Stock driver in the K&N Horsepower Challenge people’s choice
Tuesday, February 11, 2014

NHRA fans will be able to vote their favorite Pro Stock driver into the 2014 NHRA K&N Horsepower Challenge, a special bonus event for the category.

The K&N Horsepower Challenge will be held Saturday, March 29, during the NHRA Nationals weekend at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. The lucrative event is open to eight drivers, seven of whom will be determined by points earned at NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series events. The eighth spot will be decided by the fan vote.

Fans can cast their vote at Voting opened Thursday, Feb. 6. The winner of the fan vote will go up against the other seven entries in a three-round shootout in Las Vegas. The winner of the K&N Horsepower Challenge race will receive a $50,000 grand prize. The runner-up will receive $10,000, the two semifinalists will earn $3,000, and the four first-round finishers $2,500.

Fans can also participate by entering the K&N Horsepower Challenge sweepstakes at!/. K&N and Toyota have partnered to offer eight randomly selected fans a trip for two to the NHRA Nationals in Las Vegas, March 28-30.

Each finalist will be paired with one of the eight qualified drivers. The finalist who is paired with the winning driver will win the 2014 K&N Horsepower Challenge Edition Toyota Tacoma. The K&N Horsepower Challenge sweepstakes closes at noon March 10.

Six drivers have already clinched their starting positions in the K&N Horsepower Challenge: Allen Johnson, Jeg Coughlin Jr., Shane Gray, Jason Line, V. Gaines, and Vincent Nobile. One points position remains open and will be filled by either Erica Enders-Stevens, Rodger Brogdon, or Larry Morgan. Two positions in the top seven were vacated by Mike Edwards, who has retired from competition, and Greg Anderson, who will miss the first part of the season to address a health issue.

The following NHRA Pro Stock drivers are currently eligible for the fan vote: Bruno Massel Jr., Buddy Perkinson, Chris McGaha, Curt Steinbach, Dave Connolly, David River, Deric Kramer, Enders-Stevens, Frank Gugliotta, Gordie Rivera, Greg Stanfield, Jerry Eckman, Jimmy Alund, John Gaydosh, JR Carr, Kenny Delco, Kurt Johnson, Morgan, Lee Zane, Lewis Worden, Mark Hogan, Mark Martino, Mark Wolfe, Matt Hartford, Paul Pittman, Richard Freeman, Richie Stevens, Rickie Jones, Brogdon, Ron Krisher, Ronnie Humphries, Shane Tucker, Steve Kalkowski, Steve Kent, Steve Spiess, Tom Martino, and Warren Johnson. Pro Stock points standings can be found at