NHRA Story
ESPN2 will showcase Bristol thunder
Friday, June 14, 2013


Catch all the action from this weekend’s Ford NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals presented by Tri-Cities Area Ford Dealers on ESPN2/ESPN2HD. The qualifying show is scheduled for Saturday, June 15, at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT on ESPN2, and Sunday’s race-day coverage will be nearly live beginning at 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT, with a late show scheduled to begin at 11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT.

Here’s what viewers can expect when they tune in this weekend:

Al-Anabi team manager and tuner Alan Johnson has figured out his Top Fuel dragsters, and Shawn Langdon is reaping the benefits. Combining his top-notch reaction times with a powerful dragster makes for a winning combination. Langdon has taken over the points lead and has his sights set on his first NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series world championship. ESPN2 talks to Langdon and the team on this year’s success.

In the Pro Stock class, defending NHRA Mello Yello world champion Allen Johnson gets to celebrate Father’s Day weekend with his dad, Roy, at the track, and he and his dad appreciate the chance. ESPN2 sat down with the father-son duo and talked about their relationship and success on the track.

ESPN2 interviews popular Top Fuel driver J.R. Todd as he returns to the seat while Brandon Bernstein recovers from back surgery. Todd will take the reins of the Protect the Harvest/MavTV dragster this weekend in Bristol.

ESPN2 color commentator Mike Dunn breaks down his Power Rankings and tells you who to expect success from this weekend at Thunder Valley.

Qualifying
Saturday, June 15: 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT

Race Day
Sunday, June 16: 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT; 11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT